Like Our Facebook Page

Christiano Ronaldo Beats Messi And Griezmann To Win Ballon D'or

Portugal and Real Madrid star Real Madrid won the Ballon D'Ornano for the forth time in his career beating the five time winner Lionel Messi and Antonio Griezmann.
Ronaldo awarded the Ballon D'or previously in 2008, 2013 and 2014, when the award was known as FIFA Ballon D'or, the second to ever get it four times. Propelled his Club Real Madrid to Champions League glory and Later in the Year his Country to their first ever major trophy,  Euro 16.

The runner up's were Lionel Messi and Antonio Griezmann. Messi who won two domestic titles also failing in a penalty shoot out to Chile to give his Country their first major title, While Griezmann propelled his Club and country to the finals of the Champions League and Euro 16 respectively but failed to win.

Ronaldo's Speech 
"It is a special moment. It means that all my sacrifice was worth it. I feel very happy to win this. I worked very hard," Ronaldo said in accepting the award.

"A lot of people helped me get here, and it is not easy to get here. You can count on one hand players who maintain this level year after year. I am one of them, and that is a source of pride for me.". 

Ronaldo might also be given the FIFA Men Best Player Award when announced in January. Below are the list of other Ranked Nominated Finalist

2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina)
3. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid, France)
4. Luis Suarez (Barcelona, Uruguay)
5. Neymar (Barcelona, Brazil)
6. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid, Wales)
7. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria)
8. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City, England)
9-t. Pepe (Real Madrid, Portugal)
9-t. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy)
11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon)
12. Rui Patricio (Sporting, Portugal)
13. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United, Sweden)
14-t. Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich, Chile)
14-t. Paul Pogba (Juventus/Manchester United, France)
16. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)
17-t. Dimitri Payet (West Ham, France)
17-t. Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)
17-t. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany)

The Unranked Nominated Finalist

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Napoli/Juventus), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)

Share on Google Plus

About Jehoshaphat Ikpeme

This is a short description in the author block about the author. You edit it by entering text in the "Biographical Info" field in the user admin panel.


Post a Comment